The Sacrament of Baptism



Having your child baptised is a wonderful gift for your child, giving the child eternal life in Jesus Christ, and membership in His Church. This is also an important decision on your part because as the parents, you are the first teachers of your child in the practice of the faith. We must teach what we believe, and practice what we teach. Since Baptism is the welcoming of a person into the Christian Community, baptisms are normally celebrated at 10.15am -- shortly after our Sunday 9.00am Mass on the second and fourth Sunday of the month.


Before the Baptism, Fr. Giovanni will require the parents to attend a Baptism Preparation meeting. During that meeting he will inform you about the practical details of the ceremony and reflect with you on the meaning of the Sacrament.

If you have chosen a date for your baptism, please call Fr. Giovanni on 9593 4670 to book the Baptism.

Baptism Offering Many parents ask whether an offering is required for baptism. Although some people donate to the parish at the conclusion of a baptism ceremony, it is certainly not expected.

It was Jesus himself who said, "freely you have received, freely give." (Matt 10:8) The sacraments are God's gracious gift to us, and the Church always gives them freely.

The Sacrament of Reconciliation


The Sacrament of Reconciliation or Penance

The Sacrament of Reconciliation is a gift from God offering the penitent the opportunity to reconcile themselves to God by having their sins forgiven through the grace of God. Jesus Christ is present in the sacrament and although the priest listens to the penitent and says the words of absolution, it is Christ who heals and reconciles. This sacrament is received after the Sacrament of Baptism. You wish to receive this sacrament, every Saturday from 5:15pm – 5:45pm or by appointment.

The Sacrament of Holy Eucharist


The Sacrament of Holy Communion

The Eucharist
Eucharist, also called Holy Communion or Lord’s Supper, in Christianity, ritual commemoration of Jesus’ Last Supper with his disciples. The Eucharist (from the Greek eucharistia for “thanksgiving”) is the central act of Christian worship and is practiced by most Christian churches in some form. Along with baptism it is one of the two sacraments most clearly found in the New Testament.

What is Eucharist?
Eucharist is the sacrament that completes the process of initiation and is when one can fully participate in the Eucharist by receiving Holy Communion.

Eucharist is unique among the sacraments as it is at the heart of our faith. For Catholics, the Eucharist, or Mass, is the most powerful way we encounter the real presence of Jesus Christ. Sunday after Sunday (some, of course, gather everyday), Catholics gather to celebrate the Eucharist, the ritual in which, by the power of the Holy Spirit, bread and wine are transformed into the Body and Blood of Christ. We who celebrate are also transformed, becoming Christ’s presence to others, and recognising the presence of Christ in others.

The Sacrament of Confirmation


The Sacrament of Confirmation

The Sacrament of Confirmation is part of the three sacraments of Christian initiation. Confirmation completes Baptism, by which in the laying on of hands and the anointing with Chrism Oil, which first happened at Baptism, we are confirmed with the fullness of the Holy Spirit. We are reminded of our participation in the ministry and mission of Jesus, and strengthened to follow Jesus more closely.

St Bernadette Parish

What other Sacrements are there?

The Sacrament of Matrimony


Weddings at St Bernadette's Parish

Sacraments are signs or acts of God's love which touch us as we are. In the Catholic tradition, marriage is one of the seven Sacraments. As husband and wife grow together, love, forgive, reconcile, work through disappointment, and emerge as united, they become a living and effective sign that says to all that this is the way God is. He loves us through thick and thin, for better, for worse, till death and beyond.
If you are planning to receive the sacrament of marriage, please contact Fr. Giovanni Raffaele.

The Sacrament of Holy Orders


The Sacrament of Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles, continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time. This is a sacrament of apostolic ministry.

It includes three degrees: episcopate (bishop), presbyterate (priest), and diaconate (deacon).

All Christians participate in the one priesthood of Christ. The whole community of believers is, as such, priestly. Through the sacraments of Baptism and Confirmation the faithful are “consecrated to be…a holy priesthood.” Those who, after being baptized, receive the Sacrament of Holy Orders, also become part of the ministerial or hierarchical priesthood. The ministerial priesthood is at the service of the common priesthood of all the baptized. It is intended to unfold the baptismal grace of all Christians. The ministerial priesthood is the means by which Christ continues to build up and lead his Church.

Read More: Catechism of the Catholic Church (1536-1600)

The Sacrament of Healing


The Sacrament of Healing

Also known as the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick, Jesus Christ comes as the physician and healer to listen to the needs and concerns of those who are burdened with illnesses and who have come forward in faith to ask for healing of body, mind and spirit. Here at St. Bernadette’s, we celebrate this Sacrament every first Saturday of the month at 9am Mass.

St Bernadette Parish

Sacramental Programs

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (R.C.I.A)

The R.C.I.A. is a process for those interested in learning about the Catholic faith and to meet together every week to learn about the scriptures and the teachings of the Catholic Church, and to discover God’s presence in their lives. The process is designed for adults who are unbaptised, baptised in another tradition or baptised Catholics but with no further religious training in the sacraments.

Our Sacramental Programme prepares children to receive the Sacraments of Reconciliation, Holy Communion (Eucharist) and Confirmation. Children receiving these Sacraments must be baptised as Catholic or have a recognised Christian Baptism. Contact the Parish office for mor information.

  • Reconciliation is for children in Year Three, or older. It is a Sacrament of Peace and Forgiveness and is required before either of the other two Sacraments can be received.

  • Holy Communion is for children in Year Four, or older, and have made their Sacrament of Reconciliation.

  • Confirmation is for children in Year Six, or older, and who have made their Sacraments of Reconciliation and Communion.